CPT (Current Procedural Terminology) and HCPCS (Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System) codes are standardized code sets used in the healthcare industry for describing and reporting medical procedures, services, and supplies. These codes play a crucial role in various aspects of healthcare, including billing, reimbursement, and communication among healthcare providers, insurers, and other entities.

CPT Codes:

It help describe a wide range of healthcare services and procedures provided by healthcare professionals, including physicians, surgeons, and other providers.

They are organized into three main categories:

Category I:

  • These codes cover procedures and services that are widely used in medical practice.

Sections of CPT Category I Codes Are:

  1. Evaluation & Management (99202–99499)
  2. Anesthesia (00100–01999)
  3. Surgery (10021–69990) — further broken into smaller groups by body area or system within this code range
  4. Radiology Procedures (70010–79999)
  5. Pathology and Laboratory Procedures (80047–89398)
  6. Medicine Services and Procedures (90281–99607)

Category II:

  • Optional codes used for performance measurement and data collection.

Category II codes directly comes after the Category I codes in your CPT code book. These codes are arranged as follows:

  1. Composite Measures (0001F–0015F)
  2. Patient Management (0500F–0584F)
  3. Patient History (1000F–1505F)
  4. Physical Examination (2000F–2060F)
  5. Diagnostic/Screening Processes or Results (3006F–3776F)
  6. Therapeutic, Preventive, or Other Interventions (4000F–4563F)
  7. Follow-up or Other Outcomes (5005F–5250F)
  8. Patient Safety (6005F–6150F)
  9. Structural Measures (7010F–7025F)
  10. Non-measure Code Listing (9001F–9007F)

Category III:

Codes for emerging technologies, services, and procedures (Range: 0016T-0207T)


Modifiers help convey specific circumstances or variations in the service provided, ensuring accurate coding and appropriate reimbursement.

Several modifiers used in CPT coding system;

  1. Modifier -25: Significant, separately identifiable evaluation and management service by the same physician or other qualified healthcare professional on the same day of the procedure or other service.
  2. Modifier -50: Bilateral procedure. This modifier indicates a procedure performed on both sides of the body during the same session.
  3. Modifier -59: Distinct procedural service. identify procedures or services performed on the same day.
  4. Modifier -22: Increased procedural services. This modifies a procedure requires additional time, effort, or complexity beyond the usual.
  5. Modifier -26: Professional component. Indicates that only the professional component of a service was provided (e.g., interpretation of a diagnostic test).
  6. Modifier -51: Multiple procedures. Indicate multiple procedures performed during the same session.
  7. Modifier -76: Repeat procedure or service by the same physician or other qualified healthcare professional. This modifier is used to indicate that a procedure or service was repeated on the same day.
  8. Modifier -52: Reduced services. The physician’s discretion indicates that a service was partially reduced or eliminated.
  9. Modifier -78: Unplanned return to the operating/procedure room by the same physician or other qualified healthcare professional following the initial procedure for a related procedure during the postoperative period.
  10. Modifier -32: Mandated services. A third-party payer indicates that the service was mandated.

HCPCS Codes:

The Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) set codes, used to describe and report healthcare services, supplies, and equipment.

HCPCS has two levels:

Level I HCPCS codes:

These are essentially the same as CPT codes and cover procedures and services provided by physicians and other professional providers.

Level II HCPCS codes:

  •  These codes cover a broader range of healthcare items and services, including durable medical equipment (DME), prosthetics, orthotics, supplies, and non-physician services.

Sections of Level II HCPCS codes:

  1. A-codes report ambulance services.
  2. B-codes cover enteral and parenteral nutritional therapy.
  3. C-codes are for hospital outpatient and ambulatory surgical center services.
  4. D-codes represent dental procedures and services.
  5. E-codes are for durable medical equipment (DME), prosthetics, orthotics, and supplies.
  6. G-codes include temporary procedures and professional services.
  7. H-codes cover alcohol and drug abuse treatment services.
  8. J-codes represent drugs administered other than orally.
  9. K-codes cover Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies (DMEPOS) services.
  10. L-codes are for orthotic and prosthetic procedures.
  11. M-codes cover medical services and procedures.
  12. P-codes represent pathology and laboratory procedures.
  13. Q-codes temporary assigned for various purposes.
  14. R-codes cover diagnostic radiology services.
  15. S-codes assigne private payers for various purposes.
  16. U-codes include miscellaneous services and procedures.
  17. V-codes cover vision and hearing services.
  18. Y-codes are for state Medicaid agencies.
  19. Z-codes are for orthotic and prosthetic procedures.

In conclusion, both CPT and HCPCS codes are crucial for accurate and standardized communication within the healthcare industry. They ensure that healthcare services consistently facilitate proper billing and reimbursement processes. These codes regularly updated to reflect changes in medical practice, technology, and healthcare services. Healthcare professionals, medical coders, and billing specialists use these codes to communicate the specific details of procedures and services in a standardized manner across the healthcare system.

We specialize in Medical Billing and Coding and provide comprehensive support for your practice. For more information visit

For more details on billing softwares, visit